SCRC Sevens Series - Tupelo, Mississippi | URugby | College Rugby and High School Rugby

SCRC Sevens Series - Tupelo, Mississippi

Tournament Instagram

The third of three Sevens Series Championship events hosted by the SCRC took place in Tupelo, Miss on April 11, 2015. The event was hosted by Mississippi State, who finished third overall. In the cup championship game, South Carolina beat Florida 34-0 to emerge champions. 

Florida scored big wins over Tennessee and Alabama in the cup quarterfinals and semifinals to earn a spot in the final—this after losing pool play matches against Alabama and Ole Miss. The Gamecocks vanquished Georgia in the quarterfinals and Miss State in the semis to earn their berth in the Cup Finals. 

Bowl Semi Finals
Ole Miss 12 - LSU 33
Tennessee 26 - Georgia 19

Cup Semi Finals
Alabama 21 - Florida 28
Mississippi State 15 - South Carolina 26

Bowl Consolation
Ole Miss 26 - Georgia 28

Cup 3rd/4th Place
Alabama 19 - Mississippi State 40

Bowl Championship
LSU 20 - Tennessee 0

Cup Championship
South Carolina 34 - Florida 0


While open to any interested collegiate program, the Sevens Series tournaments will also serve as a qualifying event for the SCRC Championship Tournament. Entry fee for the Sevens Series events is $250 and must be paid 5 days in advance. 

The event takes place at Ballard Park in Tupelo, located about one hour’s drive north of Starkville, Miss, home of Mississippi State Rugby, and less than an hour east of Oxford, Miss., home of Old Miss Rugby.

SCRC Sevens Format

For each tournament, there will be a maximum of 16 teams divided into four pools of up to four teams, who play a round-robin within the pool. Points are awarded in each pool on a different schedule from most rugby tournaments—3 for a win, 2 for a draw, 1 for a loss, 0 for a no-show.

Teams then enter a semifinal round. Championship brackets will be Cup, Plate, Bowl and Shield with consolation games. Event seeding, formatting and scheduling will be done at the conference level and posted 48 hours prior to the event.

Tournament Location